Within 50 miles of 5 State Parks and 2 National Parks
Connect with us!
Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument
The massive Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument makes up the bulk of Southwestern Utah's desert areas, covering Almost a million acres of public lands. The monument has three major regions: Grand Staircase, Kaiparowits Pleatau, and Escalante Canyons. Escalante is on the northeast edge of the monument.
Grand Staircase
Grand Staircase is a series five plateaus that run from Bryce Canyon through Zion and into the Grand Canyon.

Each set of cliffs is a different color and include Pink Cliffs, Grey Cliffs, White Cliffs, Vermillion Cliffs and Chocolate Cliffs.

This area is filled with numerous slot canyons, is very remote, and not visited as often as the other regions. To explore this area, and if you have the time, you should set aside several days.

Kaiparowits Pleateau
Kaiparowits Pleateau, south of Escalante, is the wildest part of the monument.

This area covers 1,600 square miles, extends from Escalante through Kane County to just outside the Utah/Arizona border, and separates Grand Staircase from Escalante Canyons.

It contains fossils from the Cretaceous Period, and contains numerous prehistoric artifacts.

Escalante Canyons
Escalante Canyons (Canyons of the Escalante) created by erosion from the Escalante River, is a massive, desolate area, made of narrow slot canyons, grottoes, pedestals, arches, and high vertical canyon walls.

Escalante Canyons, with the main visitor center as Escalante, is closest to Circle D Motel. The headwaters of the Escalante River are just west of Escalante. Most popular area for hiking and backpacking.